Vincent van Gogh, The Starry Night. Oil on can...

Vincent van Gogh, The Starry Night. Oil on canvas, 73×92 cm, 28¾×36¼ in. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass…it’s about learning to dance in the rain.” 

Vivian Greene

I am learning that happiness is a journey, not a destination. I will always have bipolar disorder. If I wait until everything in my life is perfect before I move on with my life, then I will stay in the same place forever.

As if having bipolar disorder wasn’t bad enough, I also am trying to cope with fibromyalgia. I no longer work, and even carrying out daily activities can be hard. A simple trip to the grocery store can leave me exhausted and in pain for days.

I was discussing in my last post about how I believe that everything that happens to me has a purpose. In this case, having a physical illness and not being able to hold down an outside job has caused me to re-evaluate my life. I feel that the Universe is nudging me into a different direction to pursue my writing.

I am a complete perfectionist and this is what has held me back for years and years. Again the Universe seems to be telling me “Get over yourself and do it already!”

So here I am embarking on a new adventure. Let’s see what I learn from this…

