English: Illustration of the pain pathway in R...

English: Illustration of the pain pathway in René Descartes’ Traite de l’homme (Treatise of Man) 1664. The long fiber running from the foot to the cavity in the head is pulled by the heat and releases a fluid that makes the muscles contract. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One of the keys to dealing with depression is doing little steps every day to improve the quality of your life. This is also true with any chronic illness. I myself am also dealing with fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue. Having both mental and  physical problems make it a challenge for me to stay positive.

Today for example I woke up exhausted and in a lot of pain.  Naturally that made me depressed too. I would have liked nothing but to stay in bed all day. But I couldn’t do that because that only makes the pain worse. My muscles become stiff without some activity.

My usual pattern has been to turn on the TV and sink into an even more morose state. I feel like there is nothing I can do but endure the pain, both physical and mental.

But now I am doing something different. I may not be able to eliminate my problems, but I can do little things that can make my life more bearable.

So today I took a hot bath with mineral salts and real lavender essential oil. That soothed my mind and warmed up my muscles. Then I was able to do some simple stretches. After that, I did some inspirational reading.

That doesn’t sound like much but it did help.  The key for me is to take little steps to move forward.  It is more than just filling my day, it is about feeding my body and spirit. It is a recipe for recovery.

I intend to slowly add some yoga and ride my exercise bike. And try some meditation and other spiritual exercises. Read more positive books instead of focusing on all the bad stuff going on in the world. I know from past experience that these things really help.

It really is a choice of whether I want to be sucked down into the abyss or if I want to rise above it. I choose the latter.

It’s a no-brainer.  😉

