Cover of "Bad (Aerial Fiction)"

Cover of Bad (Aerial Fiction)

 

A relative is coming to visit next week and I am invited.  My sister is upset that I have not gotten back to her yet. The reason why is that I don’t know if I want to come. considering my sister’s behavior. However if I do not go, then I miss seeing a relative that I haven’t seen for a long time.

When there was a get-together on Easter I told my sister that I would come as long as she treated me with the same respect that she would give any guest in her home. She promptly “un-invited” me.

The problem is that she and her husband treat me like I am a child that needs disciplining. I am forty-eight years old.

Actually they treat me worse than that. I am treated like a dog that pooped on their floor. Last time I saw them I was literally tossed out of their house. It’s as if I were a puppy-dog that was thrown into the back yard because I did a “no-no.”

Now if I had been tossed out because I had actually metaphorically taken a dump on their floor, then their behavior would make sense. However, what really happened was that I didn’t perform the right “trick” for them.

Now they want “doggie” to come back in because the punishment is over and “doggie” is being unreasonable by not coming to their beck and call.

The reality is that all “doggie” did was give her nephew a birthday gift rather than pay for his birthday meal.

Woof, woof! BAD, BAD DOGGIE!!!

“Doggie” didn’t even know that that was what they wanted.

Well, you get the picture.

I have tried to talk with them and they don’t want to because I am being “unreasonable.” The problem is solved in their eyes so why should I be so presumptuous as to bring it up again?

This is a pattern that has gone on a long, long time where they do not respect my decisions. In their eyes I am “abusive” if I disagree with them. Because, you know, I am bipolar, so of course nothing I have to say is worthwhile listening to.

Never mind the fact that I have not been in the hospital for ten years!  Never mind that I have gotten my life together while they have not gotten theirs together!

The truth is that usually people who are that controlling have tremendous problems in their personal lives (which they definitely do) that they don’t want to face. Since they can’t find anything real to blame me for then they just make up stuff to suit them.

Ironically they call me petty for objecting to that sort of treatment! Maybe ten or more years ago they might have had some reason to object to my behavior, but not now. Other people in my life recognize that but not them. The fact is that the problem lies with the fact that they haven’t changed. Actually that is not entirely true. In the case of my brother-in-law he has changed for the worse.

He demands that everyone has to cater to him. If I were the problem then why are there others who object to his behavior also? He has expected my dad to support his family for YEARS.

This is clearly a situation of how people in glass houses should not throw stones.

When I try to talk with them about anything their reaction to me is always that I am “just making excuses.”  Not that they ever do that!

Since trying to talk this out with them had no effect then at Easter I simply told them that they needed to treat me with the same dignity and respect that they would treat anyone in their home.  That was my condition for coming and it wasn’t an unreasonable one since I was not asking for special treatment.

That went over like a lead balloon!

How do you reason with people who always think they are right 100% of the time? I certainly do not make that claim for myself but I do know that I am not wrong 100% of the time either.

I get the feeling that they are waiting for the time when I accept the “obvious fact” that they are morally superior to me.

That is never going to happen.

My choices seem to be limited when it comes to the get-together.  My dad has offered to pay for everyone in hopes of preventing any problems however since I do not consider that to be the cause of the problems with my sister and brother-in-law then I have very little confidence that they won’t find some other reason to get mad at me.

Telling them that they need to respect my decisions hasn’t worked either.

So what I am left with is the hope that they will not act badly in front of their guests. There is no guarantee of course that they won’t get mad later.

While I have felt like cutting my sister and brother-in-law out of my life forever I just don’t know how practical that is in the long-run. Maybe I should just focus on limiting contact with them instead.

I am at my wit’s end because I know that they really don’t have any motivation to change. If they really cared at all about my feelings then they would be willing to talk. They have had three months in which to calm down and be reasonable with me.  The fact is that they are set in their ways and they think that the only person who needs to change is me. They won’t even acknowledge that I have changed. Apparently their definition of change has nothing to do with handling my illness and emotions in a constructive manner that does not affect others in a negative way, as they like to claim, because I am already doing that and have been for a long time.

No, their definition of change is for me to always do what they want. Period.

Many, many years ago, before my sister was married and before my most spectacular nervous breakdowns had happened we took a trip to Nevada together. We were getting along very well at that point. At a particular tourist place, she realized that she had no money and there was no ATM around. Neither one of us had a credit card. She and I and another friend of hers had decided to get a tintype photo done. But her friend had to leave so my sister decided she didn’t want to do it with just the two of us. I had given my sister forty dollars to pay for it but since we weren’t going to get it done I asked for her to return my money to me. I saw something that I wanted to buy but she refused to give me my money back, because she thought I was “spending too much money”. Now mind you, she didn’t think it was too much money when it was going towards what she wanted. But when it was going to go towards what I wanted then it was a problem. The fact was that I had a full-time job, I was not in the habit of spending massive amounts of money and this was my vacation!  I saw a lovely piece of Native American Zuni pottery that I could not have found at home so I wanted to buy it.

When we returned to the motel she was still upset, as was I, so she went for a drive. When she came back she had a rock from the desert that she thought I might like and she apologized. I accepted.

For the life of me I never figured out her thought process as to why she thought that she had the right to decide how I was going to spend my money in the first place, because that is so completely beyond anything that I would ever think of doing to someone else. But I accepted her apology and left it alone.

Fast forward some twenty-five years and she apparently has lost the ability for self-reflection to realize that there are times when she is just plain wrong, no doubt about it.  Because I am bipolar so nothing I do is right, ever. And bipolar disorder is a moral issue, not a mental illness. And even though I haven’t been hospitalized for ten years I am obligated to make up to her every little mistake I have made until she is finished punishing me. Which means never. I guess I keep thinking that I am dealing with the person that she was back then, so I try to reason with her even when it feels like my brain is bleeding trying to follow her convoluted “logic.”

Despite all this though, I do want to visit with a relative that I have not seen in several years. So I guess I will just have to bite the bullet and hope that my sister behaves herself.  But I am damn well not going to apologize for spending my money the way that I choose. I did nothing wrong in buying my nephew a gift, rather than  paying for his meal. It was his birthday, not theirs and besides who ever heard of someone dictating what kind of gift to give?  My nephew was happy, why can’t they be happy too?

The fact is that they are responsible for their own happiness, not me. If they want to get bent out of shape over non-issues then that is not my problem at all.

We’ll see how this experiment goes…

