English: My turtle ZuZu(red slider) taking my ...

English: My turtle ZuZu(red slider) taking my snail Garry for a ride :)) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: The white-lipped snail (Cepaea horten...

English: The white-lipped snail (Cepaea hortensis). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I used to think that I was like a turtle when I saw others race by me. But I realize now that the turtles are racing by me, so I guess I am a snail. A snail who would love to hitch a ride on a turtle.

The main reason why I am a snail is that I have chronic fatigue and fibromyalgia. I had to quit my job. I can’t even drive anymore because I was too tired and I got into accidents. Even shopping is difficult, and I rarely do a full grocery trip.

I am doing something positive with my blog. I pretty much lost my purpose to live when I quit my job. Doing this blog is a lifesaver for me. However it is frustrating to not be able to do more. I would like to earn a living with my writing. I do have the talent, but I am simply too exhausted to do much with it.

The other problem I have is that it takes forever to do anything and my brain is so foggy that I make simple mistakes. My spelling ability has gone completely out the window. I used to be a good speller but now I have trouble even spelling simple words. My grammar is bad, too. Don’t ask me to diagram a sentence! Basically without word and grammar check I would be lost.

I am trying to push myself to do more but basically the only way I can do that is by taking baby-steps. It is hard because I am finally tapping into my writing ability and I feel motivated to see how far I can take it.  I know there are writing opportunities out there even if I don’t have a formal education. I am thinking of starting a separate blog to do book reviews. But I do not want to start something that I can’t finish. I don’t have the reading comprehension or the memory that I used to have. Maybe I could write down notes while I am reading.

But just because I am a snail that doesn’t mean that I can’t do something. So I guess I’ll keep creeping along and hopefully that will take me somewhere.

