Here is an insightful poem from Kati Morton’s Mental Health Social Network:

A Poem About Recovery

small-&-greedy_658985

Today I do not want to recover,
Today I want to curl up in my bed of addiction and sleep in.
Tomorrow I may put the razor away, and eat my lunch..
But today,
today want to I fall down.
Today I want to become a quitter.
Today I want to tuck my resolve into a corner of my dresser,
And dust away the remnant’s of my confidence
from the picture frame of friends who left me.
Today I am willing to crumple my origami heart just for a bit of relief.

Today I learn the meaning of strength,
Today I define struggle.

Recovery isn’t what I keep telling myself it is.
Recovery is waiting in a rainstorm because you have faith that a rainbow will appear.
Recovery is walking through a haunted house of my demons, and believing that I’ll find an exit.
Recovery is taking off the blindfold, and being blinded by the light.
Recovery is your eyes adjusting to the light.
Recovery is moving on.
Recovery is learning.
Recovery needs tears to water it before it blossoms.
Recovery is the caterpillar in it’s cocoon, waiting to become the butterfly it was promised.
Recovery isn’t an accident, a coincident, it isn’t luck.
Recovery is faith.
Recovery is work.
Recovery is slow steady healing.
Not an eclipse of the heart,
But a changing of the seasons,
And I’m still waiting for spring.
Recovery is being vulnerable.
Recovery is forgiving.
Recovery is acceptance.

Recovery is a lot of poems.
Recovery is a lot of crying.
Recovery is a lot of nostalgic songs.
Recovery is a lot of late nights on tumblr, or on the phone.

Recovery isn’t a dream,
Recovery isn’t made up
Recovery is giving me my future back.

Recovery is my high school diploma.
Recovery is learning what love really is.
Recovery is 5 years clean.
Recovery is my wedding day.
Recovery is holding my first child.
Recovery is growing old with a man I love.
Recovery is a future.

Today I do not want to recover,
But I’ll try anyways
That is Recovery.

About The Author

          Just me trying my very best to recover
Enhanced by Zemanta
